Standard

Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve visited.  I let life take over and pull me away.  I forgot where to go to fill up and settle down.  It’s not like I haven’t wanted to visit.  I just kept finding other things to do instead.  Or, rather, they kept finding me.  Or, maybe both.  I have been writing – but not here.  Instead, I’ve been squirreling away a chunk of time in the corners of my days to churn out a story or two.  Maybe an article.  But, I haven’t been paying attention to the keeping-in-touch kind of writing that keeps my creative juices flowing.  I guess that’s why those juices have been struggling just to reach a low simmer.  It’s here – at this space – that I notice things.  I pay more attention to the details.  Those details are what fuel my stories.  No wonder I’ve been dipping into an empty well.

It’s cold and grey out there today.  End of January blight.  Which means it’s a perfect time to breath in and open myself up to the minutiae of the day.  That’s where the flavor is.

I suppose it’s a little late to think of this as a New Year’s resolution.  I’m happy about that.  I don’t know about you but my previous resolutions never made it to the starting gate.  So, I won’t call this a new anything.  It’s just me, getting back to the places that were always there in the first place.  This is where I really prefer to be.  It’s good to be home.

One response »

Leave a Reply

