Hello world!

Standard

Hello and welcome to Blossom!

I was thinking the other day about procrastination.  It’s a lovely little concept.  It keeps us from doing the things we need to do and helps us to avoid the things we ought to do.  But, it also keeps us from embracing the things that we want to do (you know, those items on our bucket list that we’re too afraid to confront?)  My thoughts reminded me of a piece by Shel Silverstein:

All the Woulda-Coulda-Shouldas

Layin’ in the sun

Talkin’ bout the things

They woulda-coulda-shoulda done…

But those Woulda-Coulda-Shouldas

All ran away and hid

From one little did.

Well, here it is.  My first post and my promise to myself (with all of you as witnesses!) that my laundry, unmade beds, unmailed bills, weedy gardens, and dirty dishes can wait for today.  From now on, the need to’s are going to have to take a back seat to the want to’s and the should do’s are just going to have to go to the back of the line.

It’s spring and with it comes spring cleaning.  Out with the old and in with the new!   I’ve decided to turn procrastination upside down.  For today (and maybe many other days,) I’m going to procrastinate about doing the laundry, tending the veggies, washing the dishes, scrubbing the bathrooms, and tidying up the house in my futile attempt to appear organized and focused.  I’m going to stop worrying about setting some ridiculous Puritan example for my daughters that work must come before play and that hard work makes us stronger.  Instead, I’m going to play and write outside under the intoxicating lilac tree, draw chalk cartoons on our cracked driveway, eat chocolate covered raisins for lunch, and write that long-overdue letter to that girlfriend who hasn’t heard from me in a very long while.

Oh yeah, and I’m finally going to get those manuscripts in the mail!  It’s about time that I start being the writer that I’m supposed to be and stop being the un-published me that I never really wanted to be anyway.

One response »

Leave a Reply

